Tuesday, October 31, 2006

Voting time

The time to vote is almost here. When you go to the polls, please know just who it is that you are casting your very important vote for.

The following information has been taken from http://saova.org/index.html. The Sportsman's and Animal Owners'Voting Alliance has been doing a wonderful job of gathering together all the information necessary for all of us to vote to protect our animals and our right to own them. Please take a few minutes and look at what they have to offer all of us in the way of information.

"Candidates identified with the legend " Animal Rightist Endorsed " are the problem. They consistently vote for legislation to strip us of our rights to hunt, fish, and own pets and livestock. Incumbents with a record of voting to protect our rights, and open-seat candidates with favorable responses to SAOVA's candidate questionnaire are SAOVA ENDORSED." saova.org site

For those of you who live in Maryland here is what you need to take to the polls with you as an aid to your decision making. Remember the more AR backed candidates elected the more likely it is going to be that downright anti-animal, not just dog, but all domenstic animals, bills will be proposed and then voted into law. Breed specific bans will morph into all dogs and the bans will themselves morph into forced spaying and neutering, forced microchipping(the better to enforce the spay/neuter laws. Spay and neuter until there are none, means just that. Until there are none. Please don't vote for someone who has taken AR money, is AR supported or an AR supporter. (AR = animal right political movement)

The Maryland list:

Maryland's November 7, 2006 General Election

Governor Incumbent Bob Ehrlich (R) -- SAOVA ENDORSED
Martin O'Malley (D) - Animal Rightist Endorsed
U.S. Senate OPEN SEAT Ben Cardin (D) -- Animal Rightist Endorsed and Funded
1st District Incumbent Wayne Gilchrest (R) - Animal Rightist Flirtations
2nd District Incumbent "Dutch" Ruppersberger (D) - Animal Rightist Endorsed
3rd District OPEN SEAT John Sarbanes (D) - Animal Rightist Endorsed vs.
John White (R)
4th District Incumbent Al Wynn (D - Animal Rightist Endorsed
5th District Incumbent Steny Hoyer (D) - Animal Rightist Flirtations
6th District Incumbent Roscoe Bartlett (R) - Animal Rightist Endorsed and Funded Bill Sponsor
7th District Incumbent Elijah Cummings (D) - Animal Rightist Endorsed
8th District Incumbent Chris VanHollen (D) - Animal Rightist Endorsed and Funded
Animal Rightist endorsed and/or funded state legislators
Candy O.Greenway (3-D)*
Norman R. Stone (6-D)
Patricia A. Foerster (7-D)*
Katherine Klausmeier (8-D)
Rich Corkran (9-D)*
Delores G. Kelley (10-D)
Bobby A Zirkin (11-D)*
Edward J. Kasemeyer (12-D)
Sandra B Schrader (13-R)
Bill Askinazi (15-R)*
Brian E. Frosh (16-D)
Jennie M. Forehand (17-D)
Richard S. Madaleno (18-D)*
Jamie Raskin (20-D)*
Paul G. Pinsky (22-D)
Nathaniel Exum (24-D)
Ulysses Currie (25-D)
Thomas McLain Middleton (28-D)
Herb McMillan (30-R)*
James Ed DeGrange (32-D)
Scott Hymes (33-D)
Lisa Gladden (41-D)
Jim Brochin (42-D)
Joan Carter Conway (43-D)
Verna Jones (44-D)
Nathaniel J. McFadden (45-D)
George W Della (46-D)
Gwendolyn Britt (47-D)

Kevin Kelly (1B-D)
LeRoy Myers (1C-R)
Patrick N. Hogan (3A-R)
Sue Hecht (3A-D)*
Donald B. Elliott (4B-R)
Tanya Thornton Shewell (5A-R)
Nancy R. Stocksdale (5A-R)
Wade Kach (5B-R)
J.B. Jennings (7-R)
Susan Krebs (9B-R)
Emmett C. Burns (10-D)
Adrienne A. Jones (10-D)
Shirley Nathan-Pulliam (10-D)
Jon S. Cardin (11-D)
Dan K. Morhaim (11-D)
James E Malone (12A-D)
Elizabeth Bobo (12B-D)
Guy Guzzone (13-D)*
Shane Pendergrass (13-D)
Frank S. Turner (13-D)
Anne R. Kaiser (14-D)
Karen S. Montgomery (14-D)
Herman Taylor (14-D)
Jean B. Cryor (15-R)
Kathleen Dumais (15-D)
Brian J. Feldman (15-D)
William A. Bronrott (16-D)
Marilyn R. Goldwater (16-D)
Susan C. Lee (16-D)
Kumar P. Barve (17-D)
Luiz Simmons (17-D)
Ana Sol Gutierrez (18-D)
Jane Lawton (18-D)
Henry B. "Hank" Heller (19-D)
Sheila Ellis Hixson (20-D)
Tom Hucker (20-D)*
Barbara A. Frush (21-D)
Tawanna P. Gaines (22-D)
Anne Healey (22-D)
Justin David Ross (22-D)
James W. Hubbard (23A-D)
Marvin E. Holmes (23B-D)
Joanne C. Benson (24-D)
Carolyn J.B. Howard (24-D)
Michael L. Vaughn (24-D)
Dereck E. Davis (25-D)
Melony Ghee Griffith (25-D)
Veronica Turner (26-D)
James E. Proctor (27A-D)
Joseph F. Vallario (27A-D)
Sue Kullen (27B-D)
William Daniel Mayer (28-R)
Sally Y. Jameson (28-D)
Murray Levy (28-D)
John Bohanan (29B-D)
Michael E. Busch (30-D)
Virginia P. Clagett (30-D)
Don Dwyer (31-R)
Joan Cadden (31-D)
Terry R. Gilleland (32-R)
Mary Ann Love (32-D)
Theodore Sophocleus (32-D)
Bob Costa (33B-R)
Mary-Dulany James (34A-D)
David D. Rudolph (34B-D)
Barry Glassman (35A-R)
Susan K. McComas (35B-R)
Michael D. Smigiel (36-R)
Mary Roe Walkup (36-R)
Rudolph C. Cane (37A-D)
D. Page Elmore (38A-R)
Norman H. Conway (38B-D)
Charles Barkley (39-D)
Nancy J. King (39-D)
Jill P. Carter (41-D)
Nathaniel T. Oaks (41-D)
S.I. "Sandy" Rosenberg (41-D)
Curt Anderson (43-D)
Ann Marie Doory (43-D)
Maggie McIntosh (43-D)
Keith E. Haynes (44-D)
Talmadge Branch (45-D)
Hattie N. Harrison (45-D)
Peter A. Hammen (46-D)
Carolyn Krysiak (46-D)
Brian K. McHale (46-D)
Doyle Niemann (47-D)
Victor Ramirez (47-D)

* non-incumbent

Go to SAOVA's 2006 endorsements page to find your own state, if you don't live in Maryland. Please vote and please let your votes support our animals.


  1. Anonymous1:40 PM

    My dog was going to vote, but I decided to kill it instead. I was bored.

  2. Rep. Gilchrest was endorsed on Oct. 25 by the National Humane Society. Contact: Sara Amundson, Executive Director.

  3. So he went from flirtations to outright endorsement. I sort of figured that anyone on the list marked as flirting with was by now actually being endorsed. I just wish there was more to choose from. I'd be happy to help support a write-in campaign if there was actually someone running who wasn't outright AR or hidden AR.